Help:Deleting a page
When to delete a page
Most pages won't need to be deleted. Typically you would delete a page if the contents are inappropriate, offensive or unrelated to Sufism. In other situations you might prefer a less extreme course of action, for example...
- The page should have a different title - So just "move" the page to a better title. See Help:Moving a page
- The contents should have been placed on a different page - So "merge" the contents into the existing page and then create a redirect. See Help:Redirects
- The contents are already on a different page - So wipe away all the duplicate content and leave behind a redirect. That way, this page title (which made more sense to somebody), will helpfully redirect to the correct location of the information. See Help:Redirects
A straightforward delete is generally only necessary if the title of the page is inappropriate. In other situations, a merge and redirect is more appropriate.
If the deletion you have in mind is one which might cause upset, you should propose the change first. Do this by leaving a note to give your reasons on the talk page the page itself, with a delete/merge proposal template, to make everybody aware of your intentions
Normal users cannot permanently delete a wiki page. Every kind of editing operation can be reverted by any other user, and that includes resurrecting deleted content.
'Sysop' users (administrators) are able to delete a page semi-permanently (in fact the old editing history is still preserved, but to normal users the page will appear to no longer exist). A user logged in with sysop/admin privileges will see an extra tab 'delete' for deleting the current page.